Photos of me in Ukraine, circa 1993-95

I recently scanned some old photos from my time in Ukraine. From 1993 to 1995 (a period of alarming economic hyperinflation there) I lived among the Ukrainians; I was just 19 when I arrived.

I spent my time in two cities: the coal mining city of Donetsk and the more European-influenced city of Kharkov. I’m eager to see them both shine as they prepare to host the massive Euro 2012 soccer tournament, though forces conspire against them.

I’m now far, far removed from the church that sent me to Ukraine, but I’m still thankful for my time there. I learned and grew so much. And I returned with some pretty amazing stories.

Posted via Posterous.

~ by Mike Y on May 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
