In Norway, caviar comes in a tube

In Norway, caviar (and lots of other foods) come in a tube. And you can buy these tubes at 7-Eleven at 4am. (See second photo.)

No, I didn’t buy any! But yes, I was at a 7-Eleven at 4am in Norway… Oslo, to be exact! This is the second major destination on my big trip. I’ll be here for a few days.

I arrived to a beautiful sunny day. It got chilly tonight, but I was prepared.

It’s an expensive town. (Or is it the entire country? Or is it just the exchange rate?) A cappuccino cost me about $11 USD today. I think I’ll be eating cheese and crackers at the apartment for a couple days.

When I say apartment, I mean studio. And when I say studio, I actually mean a room just large enough for a twin bed, a small kitchen table, an electric stove and bathroom. So maybe it’s more like a dorm room. Which is helping me keep travel expenses under control. It’s a perfect location… an easy 15 minute walk to downtown.

It seems that young Norwegians (at least in Oslo) love to stay-out late and drink a lot. At 3:30am the public busses were still running (and were still full of passengers.) It was fun watching people stumble home.

I went out for a beer and chatted with some locals. Now I’m about to catch-up on some much-needed sleep.

Posted via Posterous.

~ by Mike Y on September 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
